Knights

Broadcaster: Historia – France 3 Grand Ouest

Genre: Factual

Format: 3 x 90” + 1 x 52”

Presenter: Serge Tignères

Summary:

The world championship of Medieval jousting is held every year, bringing together the best jousters in the world. Passionate about the history of the Middles Ages, these men are virtuosi in resurrecting the art of chivalrous fighting with their courtly duels.

The best eight of these modern-day knights from Belgium, Switzerland and France challenge each other over a five-day period in an exceptional tournament.

As in the Middle Ages, they set out with their squires from Cathar castles in the deepest reaches of France’s Corbières region with a view to reaching a high plateau lost in the heart of the Pyrenees: Castel d’Ost. Their adventures are an occasion to learn of the history of chivalry through reconstruction focus groups in archaeological parks and castles.

Along the way duels, determined beforehand by drawing lots, make it possible to whittle down the field of competitors to the last two. At the final combat, the two surviving knights, surrounded by those eliminated, have a go at each other in the ultimate courtly joust.

 

Vidéo

Chevaliers

Chaîne : Historia – France 3 grand ouest

Genre : Factual

Format : 3 x 90’ + 1 x 52’

Réalisation : Serge Tignères

Résumé :

Chaque année, le championnat du monde d’escrime médiévale réunit les meilleurs jouteurs du monde. Passionnés par l’histoire du Moyen-âge, ces hommes sont des virtuoses qui ressuscitent l’art du combat chevaleresque lors d’affrontements courtois.
Les huit meilleurs de ces chevaliers modernes, venus de Belgique, de Suisse et de France, s’affrontent durant un tournoi exceptionnel qui dure cinq jours.
Comme au Moyen-âge, ils partent, avec leurs gents, des châteaux cathares au cœur des Corbières, pour tenter de rallier un plateau perdu au cœur des Pyrénées : Castel d’Ost. Leurs aventures donnent l’occasion de découvrir l’histoire de la chevalerie, à travers des focus réalisés avec des groupes de reconstitution dans des parcs archéologiques ou des châteaux.
Sur leur chemin, des combats préalablement tirés au sort permettent d’éliminer des concurrents. Lors d’un ultime combat, entourés par les perdants, les deux meilleurs chevaliers s’affrontent au cours d’une dernière joute courtoise.

Vidéo